So You Want to Be a Chef?

Posted: May 26, 2014 in Abishai's FoodLab
Tags: , , , ,

Hi my name is Abishai. I read a book called So You Want to Be a Chef by Jane Bedell. It was pretty cool, so I thought I would tell you about. Here are some things I learned –

  • If you want to be a chef, you have to focus in the culinary arts of food.
  • If you are a kid who wants to know how to cook there are kid’s cooking summer camps everywhere.
  • A guy named Luke Thomas started cooking the age of 3 and went to culinary school at 19. That shows you that anybody can cook.
  • A sous chef works under an executive chef and has to do what he or she tells you to do.
  • There is also another chef called a station chef. They stay at their stations and work on certain things.
  • In a restaurant there is a pastry chef that handles all the desserts that aren’t cold.
  • Cooking is good for special events like birthdays, anniversaries, and retirement parties.
  • The best way to get ideas for your restaurant is go to other restaurants and get ideas.
  • Even if you don’t want to be a chef you can be a food editor. They make chef shows for other people.
  • You can also be a food scientist. They measure how much of one thing goes into something like chemicals.

Those are some of the things I learned. I learned a lot out of this book. I even learned some definitions like boil (to cook a liquid until it bubbles) and sauté (to cook foods quickly in a small amount of fat). This book has taught me a lot. It is definitely worth getting for sure. I got it for Christmas and I love it.

20140520_165631

Leave a Reply

