My Interview with Former Pro Basketball Star Willis Johnson

Posted: February 25, 2015 in Sports & Recreation
Tags: , , , , ,

My life goal is to be “the white Michael Jordan”. To do that I try to get the best information on what I need to do to get ready. I try my best to make connections with experienced players. I interviewed a man my dad knows named Willis Johnson, who used to play pro basketball in the European league.

I first asked him what it was like playing in Europe. He said that it was very cool. The people that are in charge of the European league send scouts to places in America to basketball games. They saw Willis playing when he was playing in college and asked him if he wanted to play in Luxembourg. Of course he said yes. When he signed up to play for them they also paid for an apartment and a car. I thought that was very cool.

The second question was how many years did he play? He played for 3 years in Luxembourg and 5 years in the Dominican Republic. I also asked him if he had broken any records. He said he almost met the record of how many points you could make in a game. It was 55. He made 50 once and averaged 32 points per game.

Then I asked him if he made any good friends. He said the scouts would pick several Americans for their league. Since they were the only Americans they would become really good friends.

I then asked if he had played anywhere else. He played in college and also for the Fort Riley base team in the Army.

I asked him if he ever had any other jobs in basket ball. When he took a break during college he coached a high school basketball team and won the state championship. He also coaches in the Upward basketball league for kids.

Just for the fun of it asked him how tall he was. He is 6’8”.

For my final question I asked if he had any advice for me. Here is what he said…

  • Play against older people so you work harder so when you play to people your age. Then you can destroy them.
  • You don’t need to be one dimensional. Be good at everything, not just shooting or passing.
  • He let me know that I need eat right.
  • He said stretching and building muscle is also important for gathering enough strength and endurance to play the game to the best of my ability.

I want to thank to coach Willis Johnson for taking the time to talk with me.

That’s all folks!!!!!!!

Abishai-Willis Johnson-basketball

Leave a Reply

